CoV20: CHROM, Last July & Promenade Cinema


Chains On Velvet 20th Birthday event

Saturday 22nd September 2018
The Waterfront Studio, Norwich

Doors 18:30 – 22:00 Age 14+
Tickets £14.85 Advance (£13.50 + booking fee), £16.00 on door
Box office :

Gig ticket includes free entry to Chains On Velvet 20th Anniversary club night (18+, 22:00 – 03:00)




CHROM were formed in May 2007 by Christian Marquis and Thomas Winters, after both discovered their mutual love for solid, club-compatible yet melodic Electro sounds. The group’s name is a combination of the two musician’s first names (CHRis and tOM.) CHROM stands for an effective synthesis of Synth Pop, EBM and Club-Electro, i.e.: massive beats and powerful bass with a harder edge, garnished with ultra-catchy melodies. The debut album “Electroscope” was released in 2010 to a lot of critical acclaim. The band has since toured repeatedly and highly successfully as support for the Berlin-based legend Blutengel and played many major festivals. In March 2012, CHROM released their second outing “Synthetic
Movement” on Out Of Line Music, which further elaborates on the group’s trademark fusion of Club and electronic Pop music. Album number 3, “Peak & Decay, followed in 2016 and had the duo releasing their most mature and versatile work to date. Tours and big festival shows followed and the band is now working on a follow-up. Life is dancing to an electronic beat… and CHROM’s urban club-Pop is the soundtrack!


Last July

Last July are a UK based Dark Romantic band with a sound derived from a wide breadth of influences including Goth, New Romantic and Rock. Their songs tell stories of emotion and sorrow; though far from morbid their music remains upbeat with an optimistic edge. Passionate about performing live, they blend dark atmospheres with driving guitars and strong melodic vocals.

Initially formed as a two-piece, Last July quickly gathered a following after playing to a packed audience at the Resolution Hotel during Whitby Goth Weekend in 2009. Releasing their debut EP the following year, they received welcoming reviews and gained airplay on internet radio. In 2011 Last July embarked on a new chapter with the addition of guitarist Nevla (ex-Rome Burns/All living Fear) to further expand their sound. After a string of successful gigs and festival appearances the band turned their attention to recording their first full-length album, ‘A True Story of a Lie’ was released the following year to critical acclaim. Now frequenting bigger stages the band saw fit to recruit a bass player, welcoming Nevla’s old band mate H (ex-Rome Burns) into the fold. 2013 was a busy year, with a second album written, a European distribution deal signed, and the release of a new remix album ‘Perceptions’ featuring re-works by Pretentious, Moi?, Cryogenica, DeathBoy and more. Alas this year also saw Nevla leaving to concentrate on parenthood, but new blood was found in the form of Sam (ex-Voices of Masada/Felinedown) bringing new a new dynamic to the lineup. Back on the road, 2014 saw Last July busy performing a string of gigs across the UK and also winess their first foray into Europe to play at the Dark Diamonds Festival in Austria.

After a brief hiatus in 2014-15, Last July are back and gigging ferociously with a new line-up and a new found enthusiasm.



PROMENADE CINÉMA – A modern electronic duo from the UK, introducing their own brand of ‘Cinedramatic Synthpop’.

Influenced by the 70’s & 80’s pioneers of electronic music, together with dramatic film scores and soundtracks, Promenade Cinema create ‘danceable darkwave’ covering a wide variety of emotions and imagery, paired with unmistakably catchy multi-layered vocals and opulent melodies.

Debut album ‘LIVING GHOSTS’, released 23rd February 2018, showcases outstanding production by Steve Whitfield (The Cure, The Mission) & mastering by Dean Honer of The Bowling Green (The Human League, Pulp, Moby). The album has received critical acclaim worldwide and sales spanning across the globe. “Machines are putty in their hands”


COV Setlist – 20/01/2018

Apocalyptica feat. Till Hinderman – Helden
Killing Joke – Love Like Blood
The Cure – Love Cats
Depeche Mode – Strange Love
The Sisters Of Mercy – This Corrosion
Placebo – Pure Morning
Gary Numan – My Name Is Ruin
Rammstein – Engel

In Strict Confidence – Kiss Your Shadow
Black Line – Shut It Down
KANGA – Animal
VNV Nation – Control
And One – Military Fashion Show (Club Hit)

Assemblage 23 – The Noise Inside My Head (Sonic Foundry Mix)
Covenant – Ritual Noise (Edit)
Rotersand – The Last Ship pt 1
Culture Kultur – Time Wave
Muscle And Hate – Murderous

Apoptygma Berzerk – Major Tom
Editors – Papillon (Tiesto Remix)
The Prodigy – Voodoo People
Icon Of Coil – Access And Amplify
Faderhead – Dancers
Apoptygma Berzerk – Until The End Of The World
Assemblage 23 – Document
Brudershaft – Forever
VNV Nation – Legion
Neurotic Fish – I Don’t Need The City
Wolfsheim – Find You’re Gone
Faderhead – Horizon Born

CHROM – The Start Of Something New
Covenant – Dead Stars (Version)
Visage – Fade To Grey
The Sisters Of Mercy – Lucretia My Reflection
Project Pitchfork – Timekiller (Restored)
Wolfsheim – Once In A Lifetime
Seabound – Hooked
Apoptygma Berzerk – Starsign
VNV Nation – Darkangel (Azrael)
Welle:Erdball – Zeitverbot

Code 64 – True Faith
Aesthetic Perfection – Spit It Out
Nine Inch Nail – Heresy
The Birthday Massacre – Walking With Strangers
The Sisters Of Mercy – Temple Of Love 92
Grendel – Zombienation (V.2K5)
Eisenfunk – Pong
Daft Punk vs. Queen – Another One Bites Da Funk

CoV Setlist – 23/09/2017

The Fall – Lost In Music
Johnny Cash – God’s Gonna Cut You Down
The Cure – Fascination
Street She Wants Revenge – Take The World
Placebo – The Bitter End
Jesus on Extasy – Assassinate Me
Brudershaft – Return
Faderhead – Generation Black
Gary Numan – My Name Is Ruin
The Prodigy – The Day Is My Enemy
Pendulum – Witchcraft

Cubanate – Oxyacetalene
Project Pitchfork – Timekiller (Remaster)
Kanga – Animal
Diorama – Ignite

VNV Nation – Fearless
Assemblage 23 – Let Me Be Your Armour
Tactical Sekt – Xfixiation (Hellfire Mix By SITD)
God Module – MDK
Combichrist – I Want Your Blood

Noisuf-X – Hit Me Hard
Rotersand – Exterminate Annihilate Destroy
And One – Deutschmaschine
Angelspit – 100%
Zombie Girl – Go Zombie
VNV Nation – Chrome
Samantha Fu – Theme From Discotheque
Faderhead – Electrosluts Extraordinaire
Fischerspooner – Emerge
Kloq – We’re Just Physical

And One – Military Fashion Show (Club Hit)
Covenant – Dead Stars (Version)
Apoptygma Berzerk – Starsign
Culture Kultur – The Analyst
Chrom – The Start Of Something New
Icon Of Coil – Access + Amplify
Seabound – Hooked
Wolfsheim – Once In A Lifetime
Project Pitchfork – Rain
Welle:Erdball – Schweben, Fliegen Und Fallen

Eurythmics – Sweet Dreams
Soft Cell – Tainted Love
The Sisters Of Mercy – Temple Of Love
Killing Joke – Eighties
Depeche Mode – Enjoy The Silence
Apoptygma Berzerk – Love Never Dies Part 1
VNV Nation – Standing
Code 64 – True Faith
Haddaway – What Is Love